Icons Accueil Plan site Contact

The Center in Brief
Research areas
Get Involved
Contact Us

Accès Membre


Web Design Egypt

Tana Pistorius

Date Submitted: 2/3/2010 9:58 am
Views: 2253
«Previous Submission
Next Submission»
Return To Submissions List

Tana  Pistorius  is  a  Professor  of  Intellectual  Property  and  Information  Technology  Law  in  the University  of  South  Africa.  She  teaches  Intellectual  Property  Law  and  Legal  Aspects  of  e-Commerce at under- and postgraduate levels.


She  also  teaches  modules  of  the  Unisa-WIPO  Intellectual  Property  Specialization  Programme, presented  jointly  by  the Centre  for Business Law  and  the WIPO Worldwide  Academy.  Also  for  the  Academy,  from  1999  to  2003  she  was  an  online  tutor  for  the module  General  Course  on Intellectual  Property  Law,  and  since  2004  she  has  taught  the  online  module Electronic Commerce and Intellectual Property.


She  is a  faculty member of  the  International Cyberlaw Clinic, and has presented various ecommerce training workshops for magistrates and prosecutors. 


She  obtained  her  LLM  degree  from  the  University  of  Pretoria  for  a  dissertation  entitled  "The Copyrightability  and  Patentability  of  Computer  Programs    an  International  Survey  and Recommendations for Legislative Reform in the Republic of South Africa". She then obtained her doctorate from the same university for a  thesis entitled "The Copyright and Design Protection of Artistic Works with a Utilitarian Purpose".


She is a qualified attorney and a notary of the High Court. Her  fields  of  specialization include  Intellectual  Property  Law,  e-Commerce  and  Information Technology  Law.  She  has  a  special  research  interest  in  issues  affecting  developing  countries, and  has  delivered  papers  on  these  topics  at  conferences  and  seminars  in  various  African  countries  (including The Gambia, Kenya, Namibia, Tanzania,  and Zimbabwe),  and  in Bulgaria, Canada, Egypt, Germany, and the Ukraine. 


She  has  received  various  research  grants  and  scholarships,  including  from  the Max  Planck  Institute  for  Intellectual Property, Competition  and Tax Law  in Munich.  In  2006  she was  awarded a  Georg  Forster  Research  Fellowship  by  the  Alexander  von  Humboldt  Foundation. She is a research fellow of the Foundation. 


She  has  been  actively  involved  in  policy  formulation  at  national  and  international  levels.  From 1997  to 1998, she was a member of  the Subcommittee  for Designs of  the  Intellectual Property Advisory Committee, a statutory body advising  the South African government. In 2001, she was  invited  by  the  United  Nations  Commission  on  International  Trade  Law  (UNCITRAL)  to  participate  in an expert group meeting  regarding  the UNCITRAL Model Law on Electronic  Commerce.  In  the  same  year  she  contributed  to  three  research  papers  commissioned  by  the  Department  of  Communications.  She  was  a  member  of  the  research  team  that  drafted  the Electronic  Communications  and  Transactions  Act  25  of  2002.  She  is  the  author  of  chapter 4 of the Namibian Draft ICT Policy Document (2001), and, in 2004, was appointed by the  Office of the Prime Minister of Namibia as lead consultant for the team drafting the Namibian law  on e-commerce  — the Draft Use of Electronic Communications and Transactions Bill, 2005. 


In  2000,  she  was  a  member  of  the  Electronic  Copyright  Task  Team  of  the  South  African  Universities  Vice  Chancellors  Association  (SAUVCA).  From  2000  to  2005,  she  was  a  member  of  the  judging  panel  for  the  SABS  Design  Institute  Awards  for  Industrial  Design  and  Engineering Design.  From  1999  to  2003,  she  was  the  assistant  editor  of  the  South  African  Mercantile  Law  Journal, a peer review law journal with its editorial home in the Department of Mercantile Law.


She is a member of the International Association for the Advancement of Teaching and  Research in Intellectual Property (ATRIP), the International Association of IT Lawyers  (IAITL), the International Trademark Association (INTA), the South African Association of Law  Teachers (SALT), and ISG Legal SIG. She is an associate of the South African Institute of  Intellectual Property Law (SAIIPL), and a member of its Alternate Dispute Resolution  committee. She is a senior adjudicator of the SAIIPL alternate dispute resolution panel for the  .za domain-name.